left hand corner. When Share location is selected, the location information is shared with
the network whenever the phone is powered on and activated. The screen displays
in the upper left hand corner.
When On is selected, the phone’s location information is shared with the network whenever
the phone is powered on and activated.
Location information will always be shared with the network during emergency
calls to the official emergency number programmed into the phone, regardless of
which setting is selected. After placing an emergency call the phone remains in
emergency mode for five minutes. During this time, the location information will be
shared with the network. For more information, see “Emergency calls” on page 74.
• AUTOMATIC UPDATE OF SERVICE
Your phone is capable of receiving updates to wireless services sent to your phone by your
service provider. Use Menu 4-1-4 (Settings > Call settings > Auto-update of service) to turn
this feature on or off.
• LEARN ABOUT SYSTEM SELECTION
The System menu (Menu 6) allows you to customize the way your phone chooses a system in
which to operate while you are within or outside of your primary or home system.
Your phone is set to search for the most cost-effective system. If your phone can’t find a
preferred system, it selects a system automatically based on the option you choose in the
Before selecting an item in the System menu, contact your service provider
to find out how your selection will affect your service charges.
[ 60 ]
View Roaming options
The menu options you see in your phone are based on your service provider’s network.
Their network determines which options actually appear in the phone’s menu. The following
options that may appear in your phone:
You can make and receive calls in your home area only. While roaming,
No Service appears and you cannot make or receive calls.
Your phone automatically selects the best available system.
[ 61 ]